CO₂

Monthly mean carbon dioxide content of the atmosphere globally averaged over marine surface sites, corrected for the average seasonal cycle*

2-3% of the global greenhouse gas emissions are caused by the use of fossil fuels in the maritime sector!

SES – Ship Emission Solutions is developing the key technology for operating large scale vessels by means of CO₂-emission-free generated hydrogen. By this system most of the climate and health-damaging emissions from the maritime sector could be avoided.

* Ed Dlugokencky and Pieter Tans, NOAA/ESRL (www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/ccgg/trends/)

SES – Facts

SES – Ship Emission Solutions is a start-up company, founded in 2013.

SES has received a funding from the Austrian Wirtschaftsservice (AWS) in 2017 for the realization of a first prototype of the patented technology.

SES has initiated the project HyMethShip, funded by the European Commission. This project involves renowned partners from the ship and engine building industry, has started in 2018 and is aiming to realize a ca. 1 MW demonstrator-plant. Within this project SES is responsible for the development of the process design.

Our Mission

The space and energy-efficient, large scale storage of hydrogen, independently of location, is currently still a fundamental problem for the far-reaching changeover of the current energy system towards fluctuating renewable energy sources (wind and solar power). By the development of a hydrogen storage system, SES intends to overcome this fundamental problem.

By this storage system, SES will open the possibility to ship operators and the society to run also large scale vessels with high energy consumption on renewable energy and thereby to avoid the emissions of different pollutants*.

*Carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulphide, particular matters, carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxide

Our Process

The process developed and patented by SES allows to store hydrogen space efficiently in the form of methanol. The high energy efficiency of this process is based inter alia on the fact, that the carbon dioxide, generated during the release of hydrogen, is stored within the process and can therefore be used for the synthesis of new methanol.

Contact us!

** = The protection and security of your personal information is important to us. Under privacy policy at the bottom right of the page, read the scope and purpose of the collection and use of personal data collected when using this website.

Please calculate 2 plus 3.

Tiergartenstraße 27
6020 Innsbruck, AUSTRIA

+43 (0)699 10 77 66 33
office@ship-emission.solutions

Our project partners

  • Chalmers University of Technology
  • Colibri-bv
  • Exmar Marine
  • Fraunhofer IKTS
  • Graz University of Technology
  • HOERBIGER Wien
  • INNIO Jenbacher
  • Large Engines Competence Center
  • Llyod's Register
  • MEYER Werft
  • MUW Screentec
  • SSPA Sweden

CO₂

Durchschnittlicher monatlicher CO₂-Gehalt der Atmosphäre gemittelt über Meeresoberflächenstandorte, saisonbereinigt*

2-3 % der globalen Treibhausgasemissionen werden durch die Verwendung fossiler Treibstoffe im Schiffahrtssektor verursacht!

SES - Ship Emission Solutions entwickelt die Schlüsseltechnologie, um leistungsstarke Schiffe mittels Wasserstoff (aus CO₂-emissionsfreier Produktion) zu betreiben. Dadurch kann in Zukunft ein großer Teil der Klima- und gesundheitsschädlichen Emissionen im Schifffahrtssektor vermieden werden.

* Ed Dlugokencky and Pieter Tans, NOAA/ESRL (www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/ccgg/trends/)

SES - Fakten

SES - Ship Emission Solutions ist ein Start-up Unternehmen, gegründet 2013.

SES erhielt 2017 eine Pre-Speed-Förderung des Austrian Wirtschaftsservice (AWS) zum Bau eines ersten Prototyps seiner patentierten Technologie.

SES ist Initiator des Projektes HyMethShip, das seit 2018 angelaufen ist, von der Europäischen Kommission mitfinanziert wird und an dem namhaften Partner aus der Schiffs- und Motorbaubranche teilnehmen. Das Projekt verfolgt die Umsetzung einer ca. 1 MW Demonstrator-Anlage. SES verantwortet darin die Entwicklung des verfahrenstechnischen Prozesses.

Unsere Mission

Die standortunabhängige, ausreichend energie- und raumeffiziente Speicherung großer Mengen von Wasserstoff stellt derzeit noch ein fundamentales Problem für die weitreichende Umstellung des Energiesystems auf fluktuierende erneuerbare Energien (Wind- und Solarenergie) dar. SES will mit der Entwicklung seines Wasserstoffspeichersystems dieses Fundamentalproblem lösen.

SES will mit Hilfe dieses Speichersystems Schifffahrtsunternehmen und der Gesellschaft einen neuen Weg eröffnen, auch großskalige Schiffe mit hohem Energiebedarf mittels erneuerbaren Energien anzutreiben und damit deren Emissionen an verschiedenen Schadstoffen* zu vermeiden.

*Kohlendioxid, Schwefelwasserstoffe, Feinstaub, Kohlenmonoxid und Stickoxid.

Unser Verfahren

Das von SES entwickelte und patentierte Verfahren erlaubt es, Wasserstoff in Form von Methanol raumeffizient zu speichern und wieder freizusetzen. Die hohe Energieeffizienz des Verfahrens beruht unter anderem darauf, dass das bei der Ausspeicherung von Wasserstoff anfallende Kohlendioxid prozessintern gespeichert wird und damit zur neuerlichen Methanolsynthese zur Verfügung steht.

Schreiben Sie uns!

** = Der Schutz und die Sicherheit Ihrer persönlichen Daten sind uns ein wichtiges Anliegen. Lesen Sie unter Datenschutz ganz unten rechts auf der Seite über die Art, den Umfang und den Zweck der Erhebung und Verwendung personenbezogener Daten durch die Nutzung dieser Website


Tiergartenstraße 27
6020 Innsbruck, AUSTRIA

+43 (0)699 10 77 66 33
office@ship-emission.solutions

Unsere Projektpartner

  • Colibri-bv
  • Exmar Marine
  • Fraunhofer IKTS
  • HOERBIGER Wien
  • INNIO Jenbacher
  • Large Engines Competence Center
  • Llyod's Register
  • MEYER Werft
  • MUW Screentec
  • SSPA Sweden
  • Technische Hochschule Chalmers
  • Technische Universität Graz